A quick template that’s good to have on hand if you like to write down novel ideas.

I like novels.
I like to read them and I like to write them.
I abide by a dictum that I think I read in a collection of short stories W.P. Kinsella, where the narrator relates that his creative writing teacher told him that for every short story he writes, he’s to have ready at least twenty. And, when it comes to novels, read at least ten. Or more. But not less. I can’t remember the specific story, but the collection of stories is called “Dance Me Outside”. An excellent flick, and I think it is the debut acting performance of one Hugh Dillon, lead singer of The Headstones and ‘the bald guy from Flashpoint’.
But that’s not my point. My point is about liking novels. I get distracted. Easily. I think it’s the coffee.
I’ve got time to read novels. Even easier now that I got my Blackberry Playbook.
I’ve got no time to write novels, and that sucks. I am hoping that when I get my keyboard for my Playbook that I can turn it into some kind of a netbook that will make it more convenient for me to write. That would be good. The bad thing would be that I would not be able to enjoy my VTCorona font (please note, friends who take the time to maybe read my stuff, if you know of a Blackberry Playbook Office app that allows for ttf fonts to be loaded, let me know – I’ll buy it).
But, what I do have time to write, more often than not, are novel outlines. I write them all the time. Not all of them make sense. And the ones that are just on the cusp of making sense, I talk to my wife about them and see if she can help with a twist or a character. We don’t always agree (and that gladdens me and saddens me at the same time) but she always inspires me.
I got this template from Sheila Kelly (aka science fiction author, S. L. Viehl, romantic fiction authors Lynn Viehl, Gena Hale, and Jessica Hall, and Christian fiction author, as Rebecca Kelly). Her website, Paperback Writer is a treasure trove of writer’s tools.

4194089-blank-novel-wiring-diagram-

I am still convinced that the craft of writing requires a regimented, assembly line approach, so as to tell your mind when it’s time to be creative, but my factory currently has it’s output scaled down, putting it more in a R&D mode.
This template is one of those tools in my R&D process.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s